Ain’t That the Way It Goes?

When I teach a photography class I’m likely to stress the importance of checking your gear frequently.  Batteries, memory cards, camera straps, zippers on camera bags…knobs on tripods.  Guess what is missing today with less than 3 hours until a fireworks shoot?  Yup, a knob off of my tripod.  Specifically, the knob that tightens the connector plate into either horizontal or vertical shooting alignment.  Oh goody, a shoot where stability is key and my tripod is potentially wobbly.

Honestly I’m not too concerned of the effects on the photos themselves, but if the tripod is bumped it could become the equivalent of a skeet thrower with my camera as the skeet.  Even my Pentax that thinks it’s a tank doesn’t make me like that prospect.

One thought on “Ain’t That the Way It Goes?

Leave a Reply

